Properly Sealing Blackhorn Charge

eltaco

WKR
Hey all,

I’m new to muzzleloader this year and been building my setup for this Fall’s hunt. I’m hunting CO, so no sabots for me - I plan to shoot a full bore conical (Thor or Fury.) I’ve been reading some mixed opinions on Blackhorn 209 for this case. Some people say BH209 will need a better seal and to avoid it at all costs, others say it’s the best powder on the market and use conicals with it. Seems like some polar opposite advice.

I understand a base wad is recommended for this use case, as I can clearly see voids between rifling and where it engages the bullet. I have a 100pc veggie wad from Dennis at Fury which me sure around 0.524” (.50 cal bullet).

I’d really love to hear from those with experience using BH209 in the field. I am likely to encounter anything between 70F and blizzard conditions, and plan to hunt backcountry for 9 days. Is BH209 manageable with the proper wad? What’s your recommendation?

ENCORE

WKR
Always use a wad when shooting BH. The veggie wad you have will work. You want bullets to load with around 20# of force in a fouled barrel. That force is after you start the bullet down the barrel with a short starter. The Fury Universal fit bullet can be shot without a veggie wad.
If you're using a 209 ignition, I would highly recommend CCI209M or Federal 209A primers.

It would scare me to know exactly how much BH I've shot since it became available over a decade ago. I've went through 5# in less than 3 months shooting Fury bullets and have tested bullets for Dennis that never hit the market. That shooting was all done with a .50cal Ultimate BP Express rifle with the ASG replacement breech plug and BH209. I'm no longer shooting a 50 and shoot a custom 45 with LRMP's in modules.

As long as you're using the proper ignition system, veggie wad and magnum primers, also using bullets that are sized to about 20# in a fouled barrel, you should not have any issues.

OP
E

eltaco

WKR