Rain pants as your primary pant?

I met a fellow hunter not long ago that hunts in KUIU Yukon pants as his only outer layer, regardless of season. He also does a lot of big mountain peak summits throughout the year and again, Yukon pants. He claims it's all he needs and keeps him prepared for anything he might encounter while also saving the weight of wearing a more traditional pant and carrying rain gear. I hunted with him for spring bear and it was 85 degrees, he was in Yukon pants the whole time.

I think it would suck but he's all about it and has been doing it for years. Is this a thing people are actually doing or is this guy off his rocker?

id_jon

WKR
How long before they are worn enough to not be waterproof? I've never tried rainpants, but if they're as hot as a light rain jacket is on me, then there's no way.

Elkangle

WKR
I love long John's and rain shell

But only when needed...which isn't to terribly often

I’ve been doing the same thing for the last two or three years now, but my main go to pant is the Kuiu Chugach. I also hunt a fair amount in shorts with a pair of merino zip off bottoms underneath, but if it’s wet, and or cold (very common in AK), I’ll just wear rain gear. I only carry one pair of pants on a mountain hunt, they’re usually on me so not in my pack, and they’re usually the Chugach, but sometimes Yukon’s if I anticipate a lot of bush whacking.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
W
I’ve been doing the same thing for the last two or three years now, but my main go to pant is the Kuiu Chugach. I also hunt a fair amount in shorts with a pair of merino zip off bottoms underneath, but if it’s wet, and or cold (very common in AK), I’ll just wear rain gear. I only carry one pair of pants on a mountain hunt, they’re usually on me so not in my pack, and they’re usually the Chugach, but sometimes Yukon’s if I anticipate a lot of bush whacking.