Raspberry Pi Trail Camera

semasko

FNG
Has anyone tried building their own camera using a Raspberry Pi or similar device like an Arduino? I would like to get into it because the opportunity to customize and tinker seems endless, but the learning curve appears to be steep. I just wonder if the process is more complicated and time consuming than its worth for the results, given how advanced modern trail cameras have become.

Bbell12

WKR
following...I code a little in python already so if it’s cost effective to do this, I’d be all about it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CM

WKR
I'm an electrical engineer and work with systems similar to the Raspberry Pi and Arduino all the time. I think it's great to get in and play around if it interests you, but there is no way you will come out money ahead (without mentioning time) of just picking up ~$50 ready to go cameras. Even if you get the Raspberry Pi/Arduino system to work (which is not a small task), the ready to go cameras are likely going to be MUCH better at battery life. You also have to think about things like packaging, weatherproofing, etc. It's one thing to get a Raspberry Pi/Arduino working on your desk, it's a whole other thing to expose it to the elements and have it work for any amount of time.

OP
semasko

semasko

FNG
Thank you CM, that's kind of what I was expecting. I wanted to use one as a way to actually extend battery life by having a "box" on the ground with the board, and some type of large battery connected by a long wire to a small camera. I found some mods that enable the use of an HDMI cable to connect the small camera to a Pi, which is what piqued my interest. The idea was to have the actual camera be small and versatile while leaving the "guts" and the battery stationary.

CM

WKR
That might work, You would have to be careful with the cabling, and maybe put it in some kind of conduit or something, rodents love to chew through cable. What are you going to use for motion detection?