Recommendations on suppressor and barrel length for a .308

Typants

FNG
Hey guys,

I'm looking to get into the suppressor world as my hearing is preeeetty awful.

I am looking to put one on a really lightweight .308 with a short barrel for hunting the eastern woods.

I'm looking at the new Seekins Havak Element and thinking about getting the barrel down to 16.5" so I can put a fairly large suppressor on it. Anyone have this rifle yet? There are only a couple reviews out there but all good things so far.

Anyone have any recommendations on a good hunting suppressor? I figured with a short barrel I could go with a 7" suppressor and still be maneuverable. I've read that thunderbeast and gemtech make good ones but I have no experience with them.

Lastly, Is 16.5" enough to stabilize a .308? Everything i've read says yes, but i've never dealt with a barrel this short. I don't need crazy velocities as I just want it to hunt whitetails at an absolute maximum of 300yrds (realistically 100yrds and in will be most of my shots).

Thanks for the help!

I just went through the same decision as you and decided on a Christensen arms 308 Ridgeline 20” with an 8” suppressor.

Haven’t gotten it all yet but that’s what I decided was the best compromise between light weight, shootable and effective out to around 500 yards with the right bullet selection

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
Typants

Typants

FNG
Nice! I'd be curious to hear how the CA shoots. It looks like a great light hunting rig.

What type of suppressor did you end up going with?

BjornF16

WKR
Eastern woods hunting - I'd look at 18-20" barrel, 1:10 twist. I've also been looking at Seekins Element. Nice looking gun but I was waiting on longer term use reports with that aluminum action. Another option would be Barret Fieldcraft threaded barrel (18.5" inches) that is less expensive than the Element.