Refreshed...slightly

jmcd22

WKR
Long story short...we left for our typical September archery elk hunt few weeks ago and after one day of hot temps, not much activity and a sh*t ton of people in a lesser known unit, we decided to bag it and hop over the mountain to go fly fishing for the rest of the week. That was really our only planned hunt for the year other than a local archery deer hunt we do on weekends. I haven't bagged a year of hunting ever...I've been hunting since 16 (32 now) and going with my dad since 11-12 years old. I didn't feel burnt out but after spending a week fly fishing and not grinding it out elk hunting, I feel refreshed...slightly. I did find that I cannot get enough of fly fishing though! Anyone else take a year off and feel refreshed?

FLAK

WKR
At 54 y/o I've got to the point that I dont "Have to Kill".
I just try to enjoy myself, whatever that might be.
I still hunt big game but not exclusively. But I also hunt alternative, less pressured species like Gallinule, Nutria, Bobcats, ......and I do love to fish.

CorbLand

WKR
Actually have been contemplating this for next year. The last two years of hunting have been rough. Lots of time and effort, no animals to show for it. I get that this is hunting and I am not mad about it but its been a grind and I am tired. Spent 3 days on the mountain looking for a cow elk for my wife this weekend and cant even turn up fresh sign. Its been hard to say the least and I am finally just accepting that I really suck at hunting.

In college I spent a lot of time bird hunting and have a couple friends that do that a lot. I may take next year off and smack birds. Maybe head to Wyoming for a doe antelope hunt. Thinking next year may be a simple fun year to get back on track.

ODB

WKR
I’ve never seen missing a year hunting as a bad thing. I just missed three when I lived in Virginia, ok, I took three days to hunt upland in WA, but there’s plenty of other stuff to do.