Rifle scope questions

I’m fairly new to rifle hunting and I know hardly anything about scopes. Can someone please explain the difference between the leupold vx3i, vx3hd, vx5hd? Why is the vx5 roughly $400 more than the vx3 for the same magnification? I would like to practice out to 1000 yards. Is the 4-15 power scope sufficient or should I look at the 6-20 power?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The difference between the 3i and the 3hd is the glass and supposedly an upgraded 3x erector - the VX5HD all have 30 mm tubes and exposed elevation turrets and a 5x erector.

10x us plenty for 1000 yards, although it never hurts to have more magnification. I would do the 3-15 and it would cover all your hunting and shooting needs.

EdP

WKR
I would not go over 12x on a hunting scope for big game. For long shots on coyotes and fox, etc, yes, but not big game. It is just too difficult to find the game for a follow up shot if needed at the reduced field of view at higher magnifications. Plus, anything over 12x is just not needed. Based on the number of scopes on the market with 15x+ top ends, I may be in the minority, but I think having more low end options makes more sense. Consider the situation where you have a 4-12x scope on your rifle and you are moose hunting. A bull moose at 600 yds has no idea you are on the same planet and looks like it is 50 yds away through the scope at 12x. I don't think you are going to have a problem getting the crosshairs on the vitals. What about that same moose at 50 yds that knows something is up and is starting to head out? Maybe you can get on him quickly at 4x with no problem but at 2x it would be a lot easier.

You also need to consider how BDC reticles work if that is what you plan to use. They make it easy and fast to adjust your hold without dialing but you generally need to be at the highest magnification to use the BDC properly.

SDHNTR

WKR
Find a different company. One that makes good scopes.