Rifle Season Sidearm

Do you guys carry a sidearm during rifle season? :) I typically hunt in Colorado, and have a 44mag 5.5" but it's too big to lug around the woods.

Last edited:

Phaseolus

WKR
If you are already carrying a rifle in Colorado you need to carry a sidearm only if you like the extra weight. I don’t carry a sidearm while hiking or backpacking in Western Colorado, I’ve been cruising the backcountry for 45 years.

westward_archer

Lil-Rokslider
I would suggest leaving it at home if in Colorado. Personal decision though.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

tjihrig

FNG
I agree with the above statements. I do have buddies that carry during archery but I still don’t even during archery. Depending on the terrain I carry if I’m solo hiking because cats are thick in the area I hike and people get ambushed there from time to time. And plus there’s more people where I hike and I’m less trusting of people than critters. I would suggest if you carry, switching to a holster on your pack though. It was night and day for me when I switched to my pack from a belt holster.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BuckRut

Lil-Rokslider
I don't carry anything other than my rifle. I am leaning more toward spray over pistol for archery just because it is easier to pack.

Jwknutson17

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I always carry a sidearm in every season or location when permitted. I CCW 24/7 so I dont make an exception because I have a bolt gun in hand. Weight is minimal and worth it for me. I've heard some crazy stories about guys trying to claim other folks animals and stuff getting heated. I'll always carry one regardless for my own personal protection.

Teaman1

WKR