Ropeman 1 vs Prusik knot for linesman’s belt

I am no expert but from what I’ve been researching the ropeman 1 is an ascender but not a fall arrest system so if you fall, the teeth in the ropeman 1 will bite into the climbing rope causing it to “de-glove” the climbing rope and likely snap the line. The prusik knot will not do either which makes it the safer option and why people are attempting to recreate a safer and cheaper alternative. Again I have no idea if it’s true and I really wish it wasn’t since I just bought the ropeman 1 and had made my own linesman’s belt before seeing this video. Having to reconsider my plan lol

Didn’t know if anyone has any expertise or knowledge on the ropeman 1 and if it would work for the intended purpose of a linesman’s belt or if It would be a safety hazard in the event of a fall while climbing tree.
24ed43e3a3808558c63e2138a8745dde.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

*zap*

WKR
Yes, it slides one way better because it has less wraps on one side. It will still hold if done correctly. The type of sheath the cord you use has will also make a prussik easier to move and also may make it take a little longer to bite. I would stick with proven climbing cord/rope and the methods climbers use. If your just going up/down a petzl ascension may be a good choice but that is not good for working while hanging.

I've not had any issues with my ropeman1 and like it significantly more than a prusik. Granted, I've never fallen with my linesmen belt (kinda the point), but have leaned into it (from slack to supporting my full body weight of 210 ish) hundreds of times without issue.

Go test if for yourself at ground level, but for a linesmen belt, I wouldn't sweat it!

OP
C
I've not had any issues with my ropeman1 and like it significantly more than a prusik. Granted, I've never fallen with my linesmen belt (kinda the point), but have leaned into it (from slack to supporting my full body weight of 210 ish) hundreds of times without issue.