Rounding MOA

JFK

WKR
Do many of you round to the nearest MOA on your dope cards? I am new to dialing and set my card up this way in 25 yard increments with everything rounded to
The nearest quarter MOA. This results in some solutions being adjusted up or down. In my mind it’s just one less thing to think about while hunting. Are there any issues in doing this?

An example. Actual solution is 6.4 MOA. I would put 6.5 MOA on card as that’s closest. Similarly if actual solution was 7.35, I would put 7.25 on the card.

Distances are not truly long range. 300-600 is what I’m shooting mostly.

Formidilosus

Super Moderator
Do many of you round to the nearest MOA on your dope cards? I am new to dialing and set my card up this way in 25 yard increments with everything rounded to
The nearest quarter MOA. This results in some solutions being adjusted up or down. In my mind it’s just one less thing to think about while hunting. Are there any issues in doing this?

An example. Actual solution is 6.4 MOA. I would put 6.5 MOA on card as that’s closest. Similarly if actual solution was 7.35, I would put 7.25 on the card.

Distances are not truly long range. 300-600 is what I’m shooting mostly.

How does someone dial 7.35 MOA with .25 MOA clicks?

Antares

WKR
I round to one decimal place on my card (e.g., 4.4), but I don’t round to the nearest click value. Your range is likely going to fall between two values on your card and you’re going to have to choose something between them, that’s where I round to something I can dial.

OP
J

JFK

WKR
How does someone dial 7.35 MOA with .25 MOA clicks?

They don’t. They round when dialing. I guess my question was whether or not it’s common practice for people to round on their printed dope cards. Is there information gained, or an advantage by having the exact solution, versus the simplicity of pre-rounded numbers that fit neatly into .25 MOA at 25 yard increments.