Ruger LCR .357 models - which one?

Spoonman

WKR
I have the LCR and it’s my carry/ backpack firearm. It’s light and easy to pack or carry. The triggers suck! And if you put a decent bear load in it, well that sucks also! It’s a protection gun so get use to shooting the heavy stuff and also practice with 38 spec. I like the LCR for the weight and size.

sndmn11

WKR
I had the original .357 enclosed hammer version as an ankle gun when I was a police officer, and it was also my mountain gun like you describe for your purpose. What an outstanding pistol. I thought the trigger was better than any other revolver I had or have shot, and recoil with the polymer frame was a simple thing to manage.

The only downfall was the lack of a rear sight, and if you got out to 25yds, the u-notch in the frame was difficult to be impressive with. I would get the 4" version for the rear sight, full grip, and the extra barrel can only help with velocity.

I’m with sndmn11 in regards to the trigger on the KLCR 357. Its Actually pretty darn smooth and way softer than its pull weight would indicate. I’ve carried a hammerless model for the last 5 or 6 Years as my backcountry sidearm. Love the weight and compact size. I’d opt for the hammerless model if I were you. A pistol this size is not build for precision shots over 25 yards. Hammerless will be safer depending on how you carry it and it will double as a nice pocket pistol for concealed carry while on the home front.

Id also recommended you buy an XS Tritium front sight. Best upgrade for this pistol I’ve found.