Salting hides while backpack hunting

Blackhawk45hunter

Lil-Rokslider
Ok so I’m going to Idaho for spring bear in May and it’s my first time hunting spring bear. I will be backpacking in several miles and while I have my setup pretty well dialed in, I’m new to bear hunting and am unsure about hide care. I know most folks say to skin and flesh it followed by several saltings to dry the hide quickly, but most of the folks who say that hunt close to the road, or over bait and packing salt in isn’t an issue.

So my question is,
How much salt should I pack in?
And/or,
Is there a lighter alternative?

I figure on having an additional 10 lbs or so of salt back at the truck waiting, so I only need salt for the first application to start drying it while I pack the meat out, and I figure I can pack the hide out and salt it a second time once it’s back at the truck.

So what do you guys think?
Thanks a ton in advance!

Once you skin the hide, fold it hair side out and keep the skinned side together. This will keep the hide from drying out.

I let a fall bear sit in camp in October for two days once. I packed snow on it, but temps were ~40* night and day. Got it in a cooler, drove home 8 hours, and it turned out fine. If you pack it out quick after the kill and salt it at the truck, it should be fine. Just make sure it's completely done (fleshed really well, skinned to the last finger joint, lips/nose/ears turned) or the taxidermist will cuss you. Leaving the head unskinned could be ok in a cooler, the hide has to be attached to the head still to check it in.

plentycoupe

Lil-Rokslider
What is your experience level with the hide prep? Fleshing, getting to the last joint in the paws? If you are good with all of that I think 5 pounds for an initial salting would be good. Size of bear dependant of course.

OP
Blackhawk45hunter

Blackhawk45hunter

Lil-Rokslider