Scouting question

Rubbin_Is_Racin

Lil-Rokslider
I'm still learning a ton about elk hunting. I've gone the last 2 years to a spot that I found through online maps and talking with some local buddies. I have been fortunate enough to take an elk one of those years and my buddy got one the other year. Turns out it's pretty crowded and I've been eyeing a few other spots to try. Knowing more about everything now I'm thinking boots on the ground would help me out alot on a new spot rather than just searching maps. What has been everyone's experience with scouting in the spring or summer, specifically, if you see elk then does it have any bearing on their location in September? I am assuming you get quite a bit of movement throughout the year but I just wanted to see what yall thought. I would have to make a big trip out of this, as I'm on the east coast, so I'm trying to weigh the pros and cons.

Wapiti1

WKR
Any boots on the ground time is worthwhile regardless of time of year. Animal sightings are great, but don't tell you much unless you are near the season you are hunting. i.e. August scouting helps for a Sept 1 opener, but after Sept 1, all bets are off. That said, sign can tell you something, but you need to be able to decipher when and why that sign is in that place. In one area I hunt, the elk use the same spots until the snow flies. In another, they stay high all summer, and drop down mid-August because the good grass up high burns off.

What you need to consider is not where do you see elk in May, June, or July, but what do the elk you want to hunt need in Sept, Oct, and Nov. Preferred food, timing of the rut, length of the rut, best food because cows care about food and bulls care about cows, then the post rut needs take over until pure survival is the game in winter.