SD pheasant hunt

Bagel_7

Lil-Rokslider
Hey everyone, I sold a job in Rapid City SD and will likely fly out there sometime in late October. Non-resident pheasant season opens up Oct. 17th and I'd love to hunt pheasant in SD. I've only hunted pheasant a few days last year so I'm a rookie. But I'd be out there without a dog. I'd scout on Onx and have done a little already. Any suggestions on where I should start looking, knowing I won't have a dog to hunt behind.

Would you focus on walk in areas where there could be active farms? Really any advice on where to find good habitat would be appreciated.

Thanks

Trevor

Rbrok

FNG
You would have to drive east quite a ways. S.D. pheasant range is the eastern half of the state.

KurtR

WKR
I would look for trees around agh fields and go early and late . Hope for bad weather. Farther East you go better the numbers . Fair amount from 40 miles west of the river then more as you go east

Jxferg7

Lil-Rokslider
IMHO either pay to go to a lodge to slam the shit out of some birds....usually run fairly reasonable. OR rent a pickup and drive the shit out of the gravel roads in central/Eastern SD and road hunt for birds. SD has more than likely some of the least restricted right of way hunting. Read the regs and Enjoy!

Mountain_Life

Lil-Rokslider
As others have mentioned, go east. Hit thick grass areas that transition corn fields if possible. Avoid anything wet. If you put some miles in road hunting, you'll notice quickly where the birds like to hang out. Flushing birds without a dog isn't hard, but keep your eyes glued to the spot they drop and get there asap. They either hit the ground running or burrow under the grass if they aren't dead when they land. If you wing em, hammer em again on their way down.

OP
Bagel_7

Bagel_7

Lil-Rokslider