Seating die seating bullets too deep

mattwill00

Lil-Rokslider
Hey all. I’m just beginning my path down the rabbit hole of reloading. I built up a tikka in 6.5x284 and starting loading up some rounds with retumbo, H4831sc, Lapua brass, and have been shooting through some Barnes 127 gr LRX’s and 140 gr VLD huntings. I’m using a RCBS gold metal seating die and I’m having some trouble with it. I can’t seem to seat the bullets shallow enough when I have the die on the shallowest setting, but I am screwing the die in to where is it basically touching the ram. Should I just be backing it further off the shell holder and tighten it there? Is there such thing as too far away from the shell holder? Just trying to get a little closer to the lands.

Also, should I consider getting a custom seater stem from rcbs? Or should I be looking at different dies?

Lastly, I put up some sub 0.5 MOA groups today. Pretty damn good feeling. I’m settling around 58.7 gr of retumbo, cci br2, and 140 vldh’s. Anyone have any idea on where to start for loading up LRX’s with retumbo?

Attachments

• 969A8D73-832F-4892-9B90-0A955FCC9B81.jpeg
    969A8D73-832F-4892-9B90-0A955FCC9B81.jpeg
    320.9 KB · Views: 10
  • D99CB8EA-3904-426E-A8EC-17C31D95A52D.png
    D99CB8EA-3904-426E-A8EC-17C31D95A52D.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 9

ID_Matt

WKR
I have the same die and load for the 6.5-284. I may have to look when I get home but I believe I screwed the top off of the die and moved it up somehow. I do remember having the same problem and being able to fix it. If not, you could back it off the shell holder a little bit. I think in the manual it should have something about adjusting the die like you are talking about.

As far as a custom seating die, most guys only need them if the bullet is too skinny of profile for the die and then the die seats off of the tip rather than the ogive. Seating off of the tip will cause inconsistent depths. I shoot the 156's out of mine and did have to get the custom seating die.