Seek outside hot tent stoves

duckhunterrr

Lil-Rokslider
I’m going to be in Colorado late October for an elk hunt. I have a seek outside redcliff arriving any day now. My question is, how hot are you guys seeing the inside of your tent getting. I’m expecting any form of weather that time but hoping to not need a new bag. I have a 15degreen Nemo bag. I sleep super hot but feel I don’t need a warmer bag bc the stove will be added warmth. Any advice would be great.

Bärenjäger

Lil-Rokslider
Me and buddies camped in Redcliff with SO Large stove in about 25°. I took us a while to get the hang of the right damper settings, but we were more than toasty. As previous post stated, you have to keep feeding it all night, probably every 2 hours with bigger chunks of wood. We packed it at lights-out to help with comfort and drying out gear, then just let it burn itself out as the night went. Woke up and started a new fire before heading back out while packing, eating breakfast, etc. That was more of a luxury than necessity though.

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk

crich

WKR
My experience with a cimarron and L box stove is that you need a bag for whatever the conditions call for. I wouldn't rely on the stove other than being a luxury as stated above. Its nice to go to bed warm but youll wake up cold... having to set an alarm every hour to feed a fire is the last thing I want to do when hunting hard. Getting back after dark and leaving before sunrise doesnt leave a ton of time for sleep already.

To further answer your question, you can it uncomfortably hot thats for sure. Depending on the type of wood you have it may or may not last long. Aspen burns like newspaper so ymmv.

Last edited:

mwebs

WKR