Seek Outside Peregrine first impressions

RCB

WKR
Yesterday I received my order of the Seek Outside Peregrine (3500 cu in) in the mail. I thought I'd share my first impressions of fiddling and walking around with it for a few hours.

First, a bit about my circumstances. This is my first high-end hunting backpack - in fact I'm brand new to hunting this year. For the last ~9 years I've been backpacking with a North Face Terra 60L, which probably never carried a load heavier than 35 pounds. The pack served that purpose well, but after deciding the take up hunting, I decided to load test it. I put a 50 lb sand bag in the pack and walked about the neighborhood, and that was enough to learn that I needed something better for heavier loads. The frame was not large really not large enough for 50 lbs - too much weight caused the pack to sag, rendering the load bearers useless and putting too much on my shoulders (I have a 20" torso), regardless of how much I adjusted the torso length. Given that I got a good 9 years out of it (and may still have good use for it), I didn't feel too bad about an upgrade.

I mention all of this to emphasize that I can't provide any comparison between this pack and any other of the premium hunting backpack companies. My frame of reference is an old backpacking backpack that was probably around $200 new.

After much deliberation I decided on a Seek Outside Peregrine. This satisfied the most important requirements: designed to carry hunting loads, break-away functionality with load shelf, light weight, customizable. I chose them specifically because they seemed to have some clever, new (to me) ideas (e.g., waterproof bag, frame extensions), and it seemed like lots of folks on Rokslide said that their frame and suspension were very comfortable. My plan was to try out the pack and see if it was much of an improvement: if not, I'd return it.