Semi-Custom Gunsmith Recommendations

To piggyback off a thread I started yesterday. I’m new to this whole custom/semi custom gun idea. So here’s the background. I’m trying to do a tikka action based carbon fiber 280AI. So the question I have is, I’m getting courageous and thinking about ordering all the parts myself and find a local smith to help me piece it together. Or would I be better off just forking over the money and having a semi custom gunsmith just do it all? If you recommend this way, do you have anybody that you recommend? I’m in Washington state. Has anybody ever heard of or used Neilson Custom Rifles in Utah? They seem to fit the bill and are reasonable priced. Any other suggestions on who to use? Thanks in advance.

OP
passinggas33
I’m in the southeast portion of Washington. I’m only about an hour away from hells canyon armory. Tried giving them a call a couple of times with no success yet. I can only imagine how busy they are. Looked into a Neilson custom guns in Utah a little bit which seems to be a good option. Anybody ever use them before? And I’ll look into the guys from Gillette. Maybe they could meet me wants.

B23

WKR
I’m in the southeast portion of Washington. I’m only about an hour away from hells canyon armory. Tried giving them a call a couple of times with no success yet. I can only imagine how busy they are. Looked into a Neilson custom guns in Utah a little bit which seems to be a good option. Anybody ever use them before? And I’ll look into the guys from Gillette. Maybe they could meet me wants.
Are you familiar with Defensive Edge Rifles in Rathdrum Idaho? They aren't to far from you as well. Shawn and his dad Bob do excellent work, they've been doing all my stuff for a long time now.

rayporter

WKR