Setting up a 4 person hunt with 3 Newbs, what would you suggest???

Deucebump

WKR
Ok everybody, Im looking for any and all opinions. I have been hunting all around the west for over 15 yrs, and typically hunt multiple states each year and have a pretty broad points portfolio for many states and animals. This past year I have had 3 good friends tell me they want to go on a western hunt, most likely a rifle, high country backpacking hunt, but open to whatever. And I really want to take them…..But none of them have any points for anything anywhere.

So here is my question, besides Colorado 2nd/3rd OTC elk, and some OTC archery hunts, and Nebraska, those are all the obvious answers, and I know we can try for ID on Dec 1st but odds of all 4 of us getting the same tag is basically zero. What am I missing that they can all get a tag for? Should I be looking at limited hunts with 100% odds, or ??? Thanks in advance for any and all info.

OP
Deucebump

Deucebump

WKR
Oh sorry, I should have made it a little more clear, all 3 of these guys are very experienced eastern hunters. Whitetails, turkeys, bears, waterfowl, ect. One has a wilderness elk hunt under his belt, the others have never set foot in the Rockies.

Wvroach

WKR
I'd figure out the logistics first and be sure to get a solid definitive yes before you apply for anything.

After that, 2 of you guys being out west and you multiple times I don't think you will have any problems as long as everyone is responsible in the group.

Have you personally hunted with them before? How is their firearm safety? If not I'd go local or somewhere close first for a 3-4 day hunt. Make sure you don't have personality conflicts being confined for 30+ hours in a truck and a couple weeks at camp will bring them out so better to find out now.

Team4LongGun

SUPER MODERATOR
Staff member