Shooting off of Tripod with Pan Head

deltadukman

Lil-Rokslider
I've tried searching but can't find much on it. I am new to the tripod game and where I hunt 90% of my time, I don't need a tripod. However, I am toying with the single use tripod for glassing with a set of 10x42 Swaros as well as shooting off of a tripod. I don't want to sink $1000+ into a set up for once or twice a year. I recently bought a Slik 824CF tripod with the Slik SVH501 pan head. Works great with the binos. I am thinking of putting one of the SRS hunters' rails under my rifles and shooting off of this setup. Shots max 6-700 yards. Rifle is under 10lbs. For those that are much more experienced than I am, can you shoot off of a fluid head vs a ball head? I don't want to carry a pack full of heads to make it work. Input?

The ideal condition is to shoot off of a bowl or ball head, I think you're aware of that. Inversely, it's ideal to glass with a pan head.
For me, it came down to the fact that my tripod is used for glassing 99% or more of the time. Few of my shots are taken off of the tripod. That said, it's a phenomenal option to have. I like to have ARCA plates on all my rifles for that reason.
My experience has been that shooting from a panhead isn't ideal, but it definitely works. The number one challenge is leveling the rifle. It has to be leveled by adjusting the tripod legs, which takes more time, effort, and movement. It does work pretty well though, and I think it's just as steady as a good ball head.
For a dedicated shooting trip or coyote hunting, I still swap for a ball head. While big game hunting, I prioritize glassing so the panhead stays on and I deal with having the level the entire system with the tripod legs.

mthayr

WKR
What about using an Arca compatible ball/bowl head and a panning clamp with an Arca plate on the bottom of it. Something like this perhaps?
IMG_0442.JPG IMG_0443.JPG