Should I hunt this tag solo?

brimow

Lil-Rokslider
Ok so the great news is that I drew my 2021 CO 61 archery tag! (yes bragging a bit here) The bad news is that my hunting partner of the last 12 years drew his own LE tag in a different part of the state. (unexpected tag) Good on him but that leaves me on a solo mission for a tag that I have been dreaming of for several years. I have hunted solo in the past but having another caller, another back, eyes, and ears is clearly desirable especially given the point cost of this tag. I honestly don't care about inches but chose this unit for opportunity.

So, what say you roksliders? Especially anyone that has had the opportunity to hunt this tag in the past.

Hunt solo? Find a friend? Wait another year?

I look at scenarios like this as
"I might not get a next year to do this. So I'm just going to do it."

I'd hunt it solo. Some dreams/challenges are meant to be faced alone. Perhaps this is one of them.

I'd also weigh the odds of if you can hunt both hunts. Focus on the harder to draw tag, then go hit the other side of the state after.

OP
B

brimow

Lil-Rokslider
I look at scenarios like this as
"I might not get a next year to do this. So I'm just going to do it."

I'd hunt it solo. Some dreams/challenges are meant to be faced alone. Perhaps this is one of them.

I'd also weigh the odds of if you can hunt both hunts. Focus on the harder to draw tag, then go hit the other side of the state after.
Appreciate the response. Waiting a year is the last thing on my mind but wanted to put it out there. Challenge with hunting both tags is that they are both hours (7 & 5) from where we live and neither of us can take the whole month of Sept off of work. There would be little to no chance of him getting his tag again so asking him to turn it back would be beyond an A-hole move on my part. I am also the primary caller in our team so he is dealing with the same issue as I am.

dsayer

FNG