Should I stay or should I go? Glass more or move on?

2rocky

WKR
[video]http://youtu.be/nz05jnF4ZRw[/video]

Thought I would give this topic its own thread so we didn't take David Long's live hunt on too much of a tangent.

The original Question:

David how do you overcome the urge to see what is over the other side of the hill?

I am constantly fighting my head that there are deer or other game animals somewhere I can't see and that I should be covering ground to find them.

Does it take spending 6 months worth of Salary on Optics and tripods to sit your butt down and glass?

Some good Answers:

Here is my short answer Rocky, if I am hunting deer you stay put. Especially if you have done your homework and scouted an area well during the summer. If I haven't scouted an area then the patients is even more key. Scouting is when you can cover more territory looking, but patients is still key. I am still learning(ask Robby...) about the most productive or bucky, areas to glass or even what parts of the season to glass where.

Deer blend in a lot better too, so it just plain takes more time. A buck I watched all summer bedded in an area the first time I saw him that hid him very well. When I went back to look at him again later turns out all I could find was part of his leg sitting out. Well sat there watching and eventually he showed me his antlers and it gave it away that he was a monster. A buddy ended up killing that guy.

If I am hunting elk, well they don't hide nearly as good and you can glass smaller pieces of real estate with better success. If they aren't in the 'elky' spots well you can move on a bit quicker. I glassed up 5 bulls last weekend, by moving from one opening to another and glassing into the trees where I know the elk bed down.