Sidearm black bear hunting

Kshusker

FNG
Going on my first spot and stalk archery bear hunt. We are not going in grizzly country do I need to carry a side arm? Yes I am new to this so I don't know if I need one or not? Hand guns I have access and ammo for would be .357, .40, 9mm. I just don't know if I need one or not, again never done this before so any help will be considered and not used as a hardened rule. Thank you in advance.

OP
K

Kshusker

FNG
You feel comfortable with a .357? Everything I have read is about grizzly country and needing a large bore hand gun. Is there a certain bullet to look for in .357? Not questioning your logic, thank you for your reply.

JackSauer

FNG
I carry a Glock 40 10mm. I have it in a Dara OWB paddle holster so I can snap it over my hip belt or transfer it to my pants belt quickly and easily.

FHF makes a bino harness that allows you to attach a holster to the bottom. Definitely my favorite way to carry in bear country. No need to move your holster. Just keep it on your chest the whole time.

Whichever gun you comfortable with and holsters well
I agree with a chest rig but it may be too bulky. When I carry it's and it's not griz county I like my 357 best . 158swc are my fav.

Lowg08

WKR
I would carry. Not really worried about bears charging for no reason but a wounded bear is a whole different game. I myself carry a sub compact 9. Just like it and feel good with it. Also. There is really no telling what could happen. Shoot some person methed out could be hunting leprechauns and you could look like a leprechaun

meta_gabbro

Lil-Rokslider