Silnylon VS Silpoly

nednic

FNG
Hey guys, would like to make a rain cover, meat bag (large dry bag to drop all of the breathable meat bags into for transport) and also some small pull-out bags/dry bags for gear in the pack. I'm looking for some guidance on material selection. The three man materials I am considering are 1.1 Silnylon PU coated, 1.1 Silpoly and 1.1 Silpoly PU400.

From what I've read, the poly's are more waterproof, but not as tuff. I have no experience with any of these materials so I am not aware if the margin is significant between the different options, or if it is marginal and I am just splitting hairs at this point... Advise welcome!

Thanks!

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
For meat drybag, I might go with Dyneema or one of the other membrane laminates and tape the seams. Silnylon and silpoly aren't waterproof like that, IMO to put meat in and not get some leakage.

Durability is the thing with pack cover, but less with pullouts, so default to strength, IMO.

OP
nednic

nednic

FNG
For meat drybag, I might go with Dyneema or one of the other membrane laminates and tape the seams. Silnylon and silpoly aren't waterproof like that, IMO to put meat in and not get some leakage.

Durability is the thing with pack cover, but less with pullouts, so default to strength, IMO.
Thanks for the feedback, so you would stick with silnylon for the rain cover?

ghost338

FNG
IMO, not a lot of difference between the nylon and poly of the same weight. I've used both for various projects (not meat bags however) and they both worked. Because I'm primarily in a wet environment I went with the PU4000. No complaints about durability on the rain cover.

OP
nednic

nednic

FNG
IMO, not a lot of difference between the nylon and poly of the same weight. I've used both for various projects (not meat bags however) and they both worked. Because I'm primarily in a wet environment I went with the PU4000. No complaints about durability on the rain cover.