Sized Cases Not Chambering

norcalkh

FNG
I am new to reloading and am having issues with a few cartridges chambering. I have loaded and shot 100-150 rounds for 7mm Rem Mag. In my last couple batches I have had 3 rounds that will slide into the chamber, but won't allow the bolt to cam-over. This brass was reloaded for the 2nd time. Overall case length is in spec, and shoulder/neck lengths appear also in spec. I don't have a mic to check the rim. I'll also note that I'm loading 1.2gr below the maximum charge listed from Barnes. I haven't noticed the bolt being hard to open or extractor marks on reloaded cases.
Components:
Hornady Brass
Federal Gold Medal Magnum Primers
IMR 7828ssc at 64.5gr
Barnes 145gr LRX
OAL- 3.318
Firearm- Tikka A7

JakeSCH

WKR
This is due to not being full length resized enough. Basically when you FL re-size many say to bump back the shoulder 2 thou, but really you just need to bump it back enough to allow the bolt to cam-over.

Every time I have this happen, it's a case I missed in trimming, or the resizing die had unknowingly unscrewed just enough in the press that the case shoulder didn't get set back enough.

This is due to not being full length resized enough. Basically when you FL re-size many say to bump back the shoulder 2 thou, but really you just need to bump it back enough to allow the bolt to cam-over.

Agree. Even 0.001 no hard bolt close. I usually go 0.001 +/- 0.0005 but it does take some experience with dies.

He is new to reloading.

Starting from basics, have you measured to the datum line on a few fired cases to know what your shoulder is in a fired case? Only then can you gently bump the shoulder 0.001". You need a gauge to measure to the shoulder. I use the Hornady Lock-N-Load Headspace Comparator.

JRMiller

WKR
Agree. Even 0.001 no hard bolt close. I usually go 0.001 +/- 0.0005 but it does take some experience with dies.

He is new to reloading.