Skills/Tricks to teach kids on "adventures"

SWVA_Tim

WKR
So when my two boys and I go on, as they call them "adventures", whether it be a 2 hr hike by the house, a day long float, or overnight trips I try to teach them skills they can learn to use as they get older... building fires, navigation, knots. What are some skills that you think every outdoorsman should have in their bag of tricks. A few I would include:

1. Building a fire in wet conditions with multipule methods (kids love using the flint and steel)
2. Basic use of a compass and map (for the older kids)
3. Identify common plant and tree types (esp. poison ivy and oak !!)
4. Identifing animals by tracks.

I've noticed as I have tried to do this with them my weaknesses come to light very quickly, so its a win/win.

Love to hear thoughts from y'all

I'm very interested in feedback on this as well. I'm a volunteer 4H instructor and we just started up Virginia's first hunting/wildlife/outdoor skills club. We did our first outing on Sunday where I taught about 20 kids how to take a bearing on a compass.

LostArra

WKR
Pitch a tarp into an A-frame tent. My kids used to love tents aka "forts".
Now 30 years later they are still tent campers.

Akicita

WKR
Confident Mindset

Every skillset taught should end with a positive outcome. Reinforce knowledge based skillsets by having them teach someone else the skillset you taught them (sibling, friend, etc.).

When met with challenge or adversity try pushing them a little farther. The body can endure much more than the mind thinks it can during physical challenges. Don't accept a defeatist attitude with mental challenges you know they can accomplish.

Frustrations are a result of mismanaged expectations - Set realistic expectations for the skillsets you are going to teach based on their natural strengths and subject matter knowledge. . . Just as they learned to crawl before they walk and run, you should approach advanced skill sets and knowledge in the same way.