Sleep Set-Up for November

Dooger

FNG
Looking at a November bowhunt in high desert terrain. Lows could be 5-25 degrees at night. Backpack hunt.

I need a shelter (wouldn’t mind a floor) and possibly a sleeping bag/quilt. I have a 0 degree bag, but it’s a bit heavy to pack for a 5-7 day hunt. The area will have very limited wood, so a wood stove will be of no use on this hunt, but may be usable in the future were I to get a shelter with a stove jack. May need a new sleeping pad too…looking at options.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

I’d go with the 0° bag if you sleep on the cold side. I’d probably bring my 20° and my R 3.4 pad because I sleep warm. Unless you are set on getting a floorless with a stove, a small one man double wall four season tent will be more efficient at holding heat. You could get away with a three season double wall, which is what I have for colder months and what I’d bring. I’d eventually like to get a Hilleberg four season, other things to upgrade first though.

High desert terrain, no wood, probably pretty low chance of precipitation. Do you even need that substantial of a shelter? Could you make a tarp or a bivy sack work?

High desert terrain, no wood, probably pretty low chance of precipitation. Do you even need that substantial of a shelter? Could you make a tarp or a bivy sack work?
I live in the high desert. The wind is what gets you. I’d go with a double wall tent to block the wind and hold some heat. Add 30 mph wind to 10° and it’s a whole new animal.

65EA9C16-29C9-4850-8FB9-77BD2089C47B.png
It depends on what high desert he’s going to. 0° and 40 mph winds aren’t uncommon in November here.

Yes, wind is a factor where I’m going.