Snowshoes for MT Spring Bear??

FlyGuy

WKR
I fly out in 7 days for my first ever Spring Bear Hunt in Western Montana. Going with a buddy who has elk hunted in this area before. I live in TX these days and I've never even imagined owning a pair of Snowshoes, but with the heavy snows up there this year I'm wondering if this is something I should add to the gear list???

Very much a rookie here when it comes to bears or even being in the mountains this time of year (Not September). I know we plan to hunt for them around the snow line, but I figured we would need to be well above the snowline to reach effective glassing locations, or potentially to make a stalk and come in above one.

Are snow shoes an essential part of your kit, or are they just nice to have but not necessary? Or are they just plain overkill and I'm just a rookie worried about nothing?

Looking at these MSRs. I can still get them delivered in time for the trip if I order in the next couple days.

Durable Snowshoes with Built for the Trail—Evo Snowshoes by MSR

Sent from my SM-G610F using Tapatalk

Doesn't take much for snowshoe size this time of year. Without knowing were you are going, hard to say if you will need them. Postholing in spring snow sucks.

frankrb3

WKR
Yup, post holing will make you turn around quick. I’d rather have them and not need them than to need them and not have them.

BAKPAKR

WKR
If your spring bear hunt, after a high snow winter, involves mostly cruising old snow covered logging roads looking for those few open patches with new grass, I would suggest that you try the 125cm Altai Hok skis. They have a universal binding so you can use your non-pac hunting/hiking boot. Compared to snowshoes, you can cover a lot more ground with them.

I have used snowshoes quite a bit, but after a week using the Altai skis this past winter, I was impressed. I realize this won’t help OP since he is likely already in Montana, but someone might find this useful.