soft boots to replace kenetrek??

AkRyan

WKR
i have had a pair of kenetrek for 2yrs now and i really like them but i have found my knees hurt like hell after 2-3days of hiking in them. my thought is because they are stiff my knee is required to twist/bend instead of my foot/ankle. does any one have a soft boot that holds up to abuse?

I’ve had danner elk hunters for 4 years now and have held up great. They are really flexible but take a long time to break in due to the design.

The hanwag trapper top may fit your needs. I replaced my kenetreks with them and have been happy. I thought they would be too "soft" and not offer enough ankle support but thats not the case. One thing I really like is that they have a rounded sole which "rolls" when you step rather than the abrupt hit with the kenetreks. My back feels better wearing these.

NMHTR67

Lil-Rokslider
Zamberlan cougar or lynx may work for you as well. I have been wearing them for about 5-6 months out of the year for 4 years on hunts. I then started wearing them year round. Comfortable an very tough. I think the kenetreks are really nice boots, but a bit bulky and loud. Good luck

Rokwiia

WKR
does any one have a soft boot that holds up to abuse?
Do you mean soft or flexible?

I have the Schnee Absaroka which are very stiff like your boots. They are a 7" boot and I don't tie them all the way up. It allows my ankle to move which has helped absorb energy rather than transfer it to my knee.

I also have the Schnee Timberline, which have a flexible bottom and allows you to flex your foot.

I've always believed that tall boots which are rigid require your knees to take the punishment and will eventually cause a problem. I've worn low trail runners all of my life and now only wear leather boots because I'm in rattlesnake country. Otherwise, I'd give the leather boots the heave ho.

Hondo

WKR