Solutions for a hot sleeper?

ejs21

FNG
Looking for some advice for a new sleep system. I spent a week in the Canadian Rockies at the end of October, with nightly temps well below freezing. I have a Klymit -7C bag (15 degrees) and i woke up multiple times a night in a sweat. Even with the zipper wide open, I was simply too hot to be comfortable. The bag was at its temp limit rating and I was getting cooked out.

I guess I am a hot sleeper. Im leaning towards going with a lighter rated bag or possibly a quilt to avoid this problem again.
Is there anyone else who has had a similar experience?

Was it actually sweat from being too hot or natural perspiration that your bag will not wick away? I ask since I had a POS Slumberjack down bag. No matter the outside temperature that bag and I were always soaked.

Changed to WM bags and not looked back.

Carrot Farmer

WKR
Classified Approved
I’m a warm sleeper, but the BA system with pad sleeve(no sleeping bag insulation on bottom), coupled with a insulated pad, seems to really fit the ticket. Slept the best I ever have in the elk woods last week

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wolf13

FNG
I went with a quilt as I find them more comfortable and easier to regulate temperature on. @*zap* has the idea right idea if you don't want a new bag. Do you also have a foot zipper?

NoWiser

WKR
I struggle with this as well. I feel like my face in the cold air kicks my body’s furnace in overdrive. I wake up absolutely drenched in sweat to the point I’ve had to towel off. This is with my Marmot Helium when temps are in the teens and 20’s. Zipping it down and using as a quilt does help, but it’s not perfect. If anyone has other ideas, I’m all ears.

mlgc20

WKR