South Dakota mule deer

SDHunter44

Lil-Rokslider
I am a SD resident and have hunt East river whitetail. This year I’m going to give west river archery mule deer a try. I’m not looking for anyone’s spot, just general helpful info for a first time mule deer hunter in sd. Since the changes in the NR hunting regulations I’m hoping there will be less pressure with only residents and also opener being on a Tuesday.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

huntngolf

Lil-Rokslider
You’ve got a month until season opens, make a day trip out west to scout. You will put yourself in a much better position when hunting season opens by seeing the land you plan on going to first

OP
S

SDHunter44

Lil-Rokslider
Thanks for all the tips, I’ve got good glass and I’m hoping to make it out that way before the season if we ever get our cover crop all planted. It’s been a heck of a farming year so far. I have been looking at satellite images to find water near some good spots, the satellite images look all dry, I’m assuming they may be a couple years old when it was dry out there. Has it been fairly wet this year out west?

OP
S

SDHunter44

Lil-Rokslider
I’m also curious on the stalking situation, seems like a lot of people talk about stalking socks, are they necessary? I’m assuming snakes are a large consideration in sept, not sure I want to be walking around in socks!

Trial153

WKR
I’m also curious on the stalking situation, seems like a lot of people talk about stalking socks, are they necessary? I’m assuming snakes are a large consideration in sept, not sure I want to be walking around in socks!
You will be picking stickers /thorns and everything thing else out of socks in pretty much all west river county.....i use vibram five finger instead. However a light pair of sneakers for Finnishing a stalk will work well too.

KurtR

WKR