South Dakota or Nebraska archery antelope

I have been hunting whitetails in WI for 15 years but am brand new to spot and stalk western hunting. I am hoping to plan a antelope/mule deer hunt for this fall with maybe one or 2 other guys. I have been research for the past year on my different options and it looks like for bow hunting South Dakota or Nebraska would probably be my best options. Was looking in the NW corner of Nebraska or near the Belle Fourche area of SD.
If my research is correct, it looks like SD changed the mule deer season start date to Oct 1st for non resident, public land hunters. That would eliminate my option of a mule deer and antelope tag as I would like to go in September before the rifle hunters start pounding away.
Looking for any advice that I can get! Should we focus on just antelope? Would the odds of harvesting an animal increase if we also hunt somewhere where we can have a mule deer tag? Wanting to camp on BLM or state land and don’t mind getting off the beaten path to work for animals.
Again, thanks for any and all advice! It’s very much appreciated!

wjj605

FNG
South Dakota is undergoing a lot of turnover and changes for non residents right now. Last I heard they might make non res draw for archery tags, so opportunity may become limited here in the near future. A lot if whining about non res killing everything.... either way, can't go wrong hunting SD

baz77

WKR
I’d focus on one animal for your first western hunt ..antelope is a great species to cut your teeth on. It’s been over 10 years since I last hunted antelope in SD. I prefer hunting them in Wyoming these days. Good luck in your hunt.

soggybtmboys

Lil-Rokslider