Spotting Scope Magnification Recommendation

UTJL

Lil-Rokslider
I’m new to western hunting and need some expert advice. I currently have a pair of 8x42 binos and am looking to get a spotter. I mostly hunt elk and muleys, and am not as concerned about trophy size. I don’t need to be able to tell the difference between a 300 and 330 bull at several miles, at this point any mature bull or buck is big enough. Also I hunt mostly in the back country so weight is of a concern. With this in mind what magnification range would you suggest for a spotter? It seems those up to 30x are the lightest weight but one up to ~45x would probably fit my needs best.

ZackP

WKR
Did you have a budget in mind?
I think up to 45X you may take a look at the Kowa 55!

OP
U

UTJL

Lil-Rokslider
I’d like to keep it under $1000 but am good with buying a used spotter.

Rodéo

WKR
I've owned a 16-48x65 and currently own a 20-60x85. I was much more likely to actually pack the smaller spotter and use it on backcountry hunts as opposed to the bigger one. The mag range is more usable to full power on the 85 but it comes down to whether you're willing to pack the extra weight. For my style of hunting, I'm thinking about giving the maven 12-27x a try since it's so light and compact that I know I'd pack it on most hunts. I never felt like I needed more mag with the smaller spotting scope but the light gathering ability and greater FOV with the larger scope comes in handy for sure. Comes down to whether you're willing to take the tradeoff between weight/size and brighter picture/more usable mag range.

I'd probably recommend buying used and reselling until you find something that works for your style of hunting.