Spotting scope straight eyepiece vs angled eyepiece

Gaffer

FNG
Newbie here in the market for a high end spotting scope. What are the downsides to an angled spotting scope vs a straight scope? My preference would be for a straight scope but I don't want to.exclude angled scopes out of ignorance.

Outwest

WKR
Probably one of the most cussed/discussed topics when talking about spotters. Personal preference is the end all here.

Pros of a straight are quick target acquisition and easy transition from binoculars to scope on a tripod to retain the same FOV without adjustment.

Pros of angled is more comfortable over long periods of glassing/observation. Also, you can get away with a shorter tripod and still have usable height.

MY preference is angled. I like how comfortable it is to sit behind it for a long period of time. As far as binocular transition, most all angled spotters have a ring that allows the scope to rotate to any angle. So I just rotate the scope 90*, cock my head and have the same FOV, not as big of a deal as it’s made out to be IMO.

Do your best to try both in a hunting scenario if you can.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
Gaffer

Gaffer

FNG
Super helpful advice. Had not thought too much about the sitting down while I scope aspect.

I had the same question when I was first looking at getting a high end spotting scope. Ended up with a Leupold Gold Ring. They only make that model in straight. So that’s what I ended up with. Honestly I spend hours glassing both in the field and outta my pickup. I like having the straight scope for pickup use, as it just clamps on my window. I don’t get uncomfortable glassing in the field. If you have a good tripod I’ll make up the difference. You can’t go wrong with either as long as you purchase a high quality optic.

ttucci16

Lil-Rokslider