Stone Glacier Re-Warming Drill

Chad.frank

Lil-Rokslider
It's usually done with synthetic clothing. It's interesting how the treated down held up.

This was a great video. Kind of opposite of the drill that Sitka has run in the past.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Now with treated down, does the treatment "dissipate" or "wash away" over time the more and more moisture passes over the down?

Can you re treat it in a wash with a detergent?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Steve O

WKR
Classified Approved
They went over their down treatment. Pretty amazing! Good guys at Stone Glacier, I trust them.

They went over their down treatment. Pretty amazing! Good guys at Stone Glacier, I trust them.

They explained how the down works at first, but they never mentioned how long that DWR lasts on the down and/or whether or not you can re-treat it yourself... Unless they've covered that somewhere and I missed it.

I’ve been using treated down puffy gear and quilts now for about 5 years and although I’ve never tested it to the extent of their test, I have on many occasions come back to camp very wet, put all my puffy gear and beanie on, then into the quilt for the night. It’s always pretty miserable initially, and although I’m usually wet for some time, I’ve always warmed up pretty quickly, and by the next morning, I have always been 100% dry. Occasionally I’ve experienced condensation trapped between the outer quilt fabric and the inner bivy fabric, but that has always been in the foot box area, and never affected my comfort or hampered the drying of my feet.