Stone Sheep hunt questions

bard

Lil-Rokslider
I am a BC resident so can't speak of a personal hunt i have done with any outfitters. But i can put in a good word for Scoop Lake. I use the owners fly in service. He runs a tight ship. he does the flying for many of the outfits in northern bc and yukon out of watson lake. I cant say enough good things. always took good care of us, got us out in questionable weather, and has our safety and well being in mind. have spoke to many scoop lake clients at the dock waiting on flights and all have good things to say as well

Big nine, stone mountain safari ,and muskwa outfitters have good potential to harvest a ram. Stones are there but i think the genetics and for other reasons the Rams out of BIG NINE have been impressive. you can hunt by horse with all of them or on foot
pm me if you have any other questions

madcalfe

WKR
I’d think hunting with the outfitter at todigan mountain would be the best bet for bow hunting. East of the Rockie divide you’ll get bigger and darker rams though I’m a bc resident so never used a guide but if I had to hunt with a guide for stones bc backcountry and beyond would be probably the one I’d choose. Big 9 has a good reputation for getting big sheep and scoop lake outfitters is another good choice.

I'm a Northern BC resident, and I am a stone hunter. And there are some places with some really bad blood between outfitters and residents. THAT would be my first question.

And asking who has had bow hunters previously, and has terrain conducive to bowhunting would be right up there as well. Have to remember that outfitters can sell as many sheep hunts as they want every year, but they are only allowed to kill up to their allotment quota. In some places a bowhunter is simply an extra $35-50k where they don't have to worry about him killing a ram that would have otherwise gotten a repeat customer because the terrain simply won't let you get close enough.....