Suppressors explained

Ok I know a couple people wanted me to break down suppressors a little better. I'm more of a visual person so I apologize in advance for the all the pictures(I'm no artist) and more than likely terrible writing skills.

Ok so this started off as a discussion on reflex suppressors(over the barrel(OTB) and traditional style suppressors. They also wanted to break down the difference in direct thread (DT) and mounts with a break.

So the purpose of a suppressor is to down the release of the high pressure gasses when leaving the barrel. Think of it like twiting up a water bottle and flicking the cap off. You get a pop right? Now take another twisted up water bottle and slowly twist the cap off. You just get a hiss or ppssshh sound. The same amount of air is being released its just at a different flow rate. Now how do slow down that high pressure gas?

We can slow down that release impulse by making that gas colum pass through a series of chambers. Seems simple right? Not so much. The gas colum doesn't come out and instantly start expanding. Instead it come out in a linear flow. Think of water leaving a garden house. It stays together until it starts loosing its velocity. 16486589563237152299816302594570.jpg
The challenge is to peel the gasses away from the colum. This is done by the baffles inside the suppressor.

So now there comes why a suppressor that has a mount and a break is more effective than a direct thread at slowing down the gas release.
16486595278177664386946641901418.jpg