Swarovski 12x50 ELs Vs 12x42 NLs

Ryan Avery

Admin
Staff member
@Matt Cashell will be doing a review comparing these two binoculars.

***Update 11/15/20*** Matt's review is available here.

Matt will be way more technical than I am but I have been using the 12 ELs for the last five years and had the 12 NLs on a recent mule deer hunt. Here are a few things I notice. The NLs FOV is WIDE and usable to the very edge, it's almost too much. You will instantly fall in love with the ergonomics and size of these binoculars, they just fit, making it much easier to handhold over the 12 ELs. The 12 NLs do seem to be a little more eye box critical than the 12 ELs. I also think the 12 ELs might give you a little more low light performance. That would be expecting with a 50mm objective. But not enough to matter in hunting scenarios. I didn't have the forehead rest. I will try to get that for Matt's review.

I believe the bigger the usable FOV the more animals you spot. The 12 NLs give you 39' more at 1000 yards or the 12 ELs.

3d416fea5651f624e7c299cbb123bbac.jpg

10x42 ELs vs 12x42 NLs

9f48225333842f0c20f356b6591632e8.jpg

The outdoorsman’s stud screws in.

915f136100aa5d1dfb525360cb023d03.jpg

It helps you find good bucks. :)

Last edited:

Tartan

WKR
@Ryan Avery does the wider field of view make it easier to hand hold, or is that purely affected by magnification?

should be able to get my first set of top tier glass soon. The 12NL’s seem like a perfect set for out west on the tripod, but if I’m dropping that dime, I’m gonna want to use them around here for whitetail as well. Debating between the 12s and 10s.

robby denning

Administrator
Staff member
@Matt Cashell will be doing a review comparing these two binoculars.