Talk me out of a Nightforce NX8 1-8x10

Marbles

WKR
Classified Approved
So, I'm looking to get new glass. I have been using a Weaver K4 for about 10 years. It has worked well, held zero despite abuse year to year. It is lacking for shooting at distance however. Excuse all the writing, part of this is to see if anyone can shoot holes in how I arrived at wanting the Nightforce NX8 1-8x10.

This will go on a 30-06 Kimber Montana. This is a do everything rifle, from goats in the open alpine to brown bear in the alders. As such, I want a low range magnification of 3x or less. I don't plan on shooting past 500 yards (and that only after a lot of practice, at the moment 200 yards would be the furthest I would feel comfortable shooting an animal) so I would be fine with a top end of 8x to 10x. As I would like to start shooting further out, I want something that dials reliably.

Durability and reliability are high on my list. Size and weight come in second, I really don't want an objective over 42mm nor do I want a scope over 24 oz (and I would prefer it to be under 20 oz). Glass quality would be third. Price wise, above $2000 is absolutely out, however below $1000 would be nice. Adequate eye relief, the Weaver has 3.3 inches, and I have a scar from scoping myself with it (but I stopped stock crawling after that and have not done it again). While it is not hard to find options that are an upgrade to the Weaver I have now, I'm hoping to get something I will not want to replace in a few years and would rather stay with the Weaver for a few more years than spend several hundred on something I don't like.