Tarp shelters in high winds

Set up my first tarp shelter today. It's a little Zpacks Pocket Tarp with doors. I used carbon peg stakes and set it up behind my building at work. The surface is pea gravel covered with a thin layer of grass, so not real stable. Winds were blowing around 25 mph. Stakes pulled out a couple of times as I was setting up.

For those who live in tarp shelters, anything special you do during set up to keep things from flying around, or is this just something you have to deal with during high winds? Do you have to put rocks on top of the stakes or use a different style? I love the carbon pins because they weigh 0.2 oz each. Not sure it would have stayed standing with winds much higher, or if I was setting up on snow.

I'm totally new to tarps, so I'm probably missing something simple. Thinking I probably should have set it up with the fabric touching the ground instead of 4-6" off the ground, which is the standard set up.

Last edited:
Set the side towards the wind to the ground.
Put rocks etc on the stakes.
Take a couple bigger stakes for corners.
Bit Of extra cord to wrap around logs, rocks etc.
Lots of adaptability with tarps that you can take advantage of.
Watch YouTube on how to pitch a tarp.

OP
Mike Islander
Thanks MR260. This tarp has a very specific setup configuration. I may be able to set it up a few other ways. Will see if I can find some options on YTube. I can see how getting the bottom edge down to the ground would solve a lot of problems. Having it up 6" is the standard configuration, and I'm sure that's to provide plenty of ventalation, a secondary consideration in high winds.

hexamid-pocket-tarp-w-doors-laying-down_2048x.jpg

tdot

WKR
I would consider replacing all the major tie out points with MSR Groundhogs. Yes they are heavier, but they hold. The carbon stakes are nice on specific ground and at tension points that require less tension then the major tie out points.