Taxidermy: use local or ship it back home?

Cmb213

FNG
I'm getting all of my ducks in a row for a moose hunt in September up in Newfoundland. I've never used a taxidermist before (never had anything worth mounting) so whats your thoughts? Is it better to use someone local to where ill be hunting? Or would you rather have the cape and skull shipped to someone close to home? I don't have a taxidermist I've ever used so I feel like I don't have a dog in this fight.

Gbrecka

Lil-Rokslider
I have a very good taxidermist close to home. Because of that, I’ve always brought my capes back to him to mount. Research your local guys, stop into the shops, and check out their work. If everyone by you is junk, and it’s easier to have it done locally to the hunt, leave it there.

I can’t speak on moose or Newfoundland. But I shot a turkey in California this year and the taxidermists there I talked to wanted around $1500. The price here in Oklahoma is around $500. From what I could tell there was no higher quality in work from the CA guys. My bird got stuffed in a box and shipped home.

I would damn sure talked to your local guys first, and call some Newfoundland guys to get a idea on prices.

Saleen422

Lil-Rokslider
See what way is cheaper to get home, horns and cape, or a mount in a crate

WCB

WKR
I would get the hide and horns shipped and get it done "local"...or at least whoever is decently close but good. Unless you can really research the taxidermist there. Just going buy cost is a really good way to get a crap mount. But....
It all could depend to on who mush you appreciate good taxidermy...Some guys will bring it to whoever is cheapest and quickest and get a crap mount but they saved money and really just wanted horns with a hide on the wall. I personally will pay a heck of a lot more for a good mount.