Tents with & without floors?

Jack321

Lil-Rokslider
Newbie here, looking to get into pack hunting out west. And like everyone, I've been reading a lot on different tents, gear, options, weights and features. I'm not new to hunting but new to western hunting.

One question I haven't been able to find an answer is what's the difference between a tent with a floor that's attached to the walls vs. a tent that has an exposed floor?

My brother is really interested in the exposed floors because they can have a packable furnace.

But wouldn't the colder air be sucked in from the gaps in the floor? I just am having a hard time seeing how those would be good if there's rain or snow? Esp as opposed to the tents that floors are attached to the sides...

gexpro

WKR
most TP style tents/floor-less shelters can be staked down close to the ground. you can also pile rocks around it to further supplement as a wind barrier.

some manufactures also build shelters with snow/sod skirts to solve the concern you have.

Give https://seekoutside.com a look!

OP
J

Jack321

Lil-Rokslider
I've seen those, and seen how you can get them close to the ground. But was more trying to understand why they'd design them that way?

gexpro

WKR
I've seen those, and seen how you can get them close to the ground. But was more trying to understand why they'd design them that way?

elk-dreamer nailed it. I have a dyneema composite fiber Cimarron from seek outside that only weighs 1.5 lbs.
It can fit 4 people or two people with a stove. very impressive tent, quality is top notch.

OP
J

Jack321

Lil-Rokslider
"Design them what way, to be tight to the ground or to be pitched up off the ground?"

Pitched up off the ground. I guess I'm trying to understand why they'd design them with gaps and allow air in. Or if it rains/snows, to get wet/muddy.....

I figured the gaps were for less weight, or more air circulation for less condensation...