Testing kryptek/La Sportiva trango cube GTX

Travis Bertrand

Super Moderator
Staff member
I've been testing these boots out for a few months now but wanted to give you guys a progress report but first a back story...

8618fc40f0ebc8ae743c985b6eb515eb.jpg

A special ops team was using these boots and La sportiva only offers them in "clown colors" so the team was spray painting their boots. They then went to La Sportiva to see if they can get them in camo and they wanted Kryptek highlander. Now La Sportiva offers them in Highlander and only sold through Kryptek.
9820e59abb153ff4bb365d788c0d709c.jpg

These boots are very lightweight and stiff in the ankle making them a popular choice for the backcountry hunter. They are gore Tex and very comfortable.

I've put on over 70 miles ranging from 3 feet of snow to mud to dry desert to walking around in town. For break in, I wore them around town for two days before hiking 2,000 feet elevation over 2 miles. I have not received a blisters and put on some hard miles granted not a ton of weight (20-30lbs in pack). The gore Tex goes very high on the boot and I have crossed a few creeks I was sure to get wet and I did not.

Traction seems to be good with the vibram sole and I haven't had any heel slip.

I will be updating this thread with my thoughts as well as specs as they come in but so far, two thumbs up!

Travis what's the stiffness like? Comparable to something else you have used?

I've wanted to try these as they are crazy light, but I've heard(true or not) the eyelets are a weak point as they are molded into the boot. What's your thoughts on the build?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
Travis Bertrand

Travis Bertrand

Super Moderator
Staff member
build seems legit, they are up there in stiffness with other boots I've tried (scarpa, la sportive glacier evo's 1 and 2.) I would say similar to glacier evo.