Texas public land hogs

Big_wals

Lil-Rokslider
Howdy! Im new to this this forum and also new to Texas. Anyone have tips for places to find hogs? I have a little private land i can hunt, but I'd like to find some other areas. Using a trad bow btw. Thanks!

wytx

WKR
Go east .
Some lakes allow hog hunting in certain areas. Check with the Corp of Engineers.

TxxAgg

WKR
There isn't much public land in TX. But hogs are everywhere. Pick the closest public place to you and walk upwind. You'll bump into some.

wytx is correct. 4 National Forests in E Texas, and all have hogs and all have riverbottoms and lakes where hogs frequent. There are also the COE lakes as he mentioned.

Honestly, if you can't find feral hogs on public land in Texas, I suggest taking two weeks off from hunting, and then quit.

OP
Big_wals

Big_wals

Lil-Rokslider
Thanks for the info! Im in Western TX and haven't been able to find much public land yet. Guess maybe itll be a good excuse to go camping and hunt on the east side!

TexEnv700

Lil-Rokslider
Check the TPWD site. Nearly all the WMA's (state owned) you have to be actively engaged in another hunt, deer for example, then if you happen upon a hog you can take it. This used to be the case anyway. The WMA near my house used to have a hog season but it was shotgun only. Most Corps and the little forest service land (less than an hour from me) is pretty much fair game as far as I know, but most of it is extremely thick. We've been slammed with rain here too so that could cause issues with access with flooded roads and a lot of the bottoms being just pure muck.

TexEnv700

Lil-Rokslider