Thermal optics suggestions

SDHunter44

Lil-Rokslider
Looking to get into thermal for coyote hunting. Seems like the consensus is to get a really nice scanner and the scope could be a little more budget since you aren’t always looking through it?

What are some go to brands and is it the same brands between scanner and scope? How much should I expect to spend to get a good scanner and scope? I do hunt pretty wide open country so I can see a long ways, but shooting at night I won’t shoot as far as I would/ could during the day.

Any other advice on someone just getting into thermal?

Edited to add: I am a military vet so if anyone knows of good companies that have a veteran discount that would also be helpful info.

Dented

WKR
My first purchase was a scanner. My first step was to watch and read everything I could on the subject.

Then I called these guys and had a long talk about what I was doing, where I was doing it, what I was using and what I could afford. They made recommendations that came in significantly under my budget, and I'm thrilled. That was over a year ago.

Highly suggest checking out Bering optics. I run a super hogster a3 and absolutely love it. They just came out with a new scope with a built in rangefinder and it’s top notch. Agm fusion scanner if I had to choose one. I have compared my super hogster to several other 384 and it’s a noticeable difference how clear my Bering is.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kkp005

WKR
I’ve owned or used just about all of the thermals out today on the commercial market. I’m currently using Iray Rico mk1 (640 resolution) and an iray bolt tl35 scope (384 resolution) . The iray bolts are great for the money.
If I was to do it again I’d get a 640 res dedicated scanner and then a 384 iray bolt on top of my rifle . Like mentioned above, the guys at outdoor legacy gear are honest and trustworthy. Give them a call .

Here’s a video of a coyote I shot with the iray bolt tl35 on top of my 6creed

satchamo

WKR