Thor Sizing Question

ToolMann

WKR
I'll preface this with I'm brand new to the muzzleloader thing, so my understanding of pressure needed to seat the bullet is minimal at best. I ordered the sizing kit for my new Optima V2 in 50 cal. The smallest one went in pretty east. Started it with my thumb (didn't need the bullet starter) and pushed it down the barrel pretty easily. It did have very some light (again, not a bunch of experience here) striations from the rifling. The second one was a no-go. I got it in maybe a half inch and it stopped. I pushed pretty hard on it and it wasn't moving anywhere. When I tapped it out with the rod from the other end it also had marks from the rifling. Figured I'd try the third size to see if maybe there was a mis-sizing, and it wouldn't start at all, so I'm confident they were marked correctly.

Any thoughts? I'm guessing the smallest, .500, is what I need to stay with. It just felt almost too easy to slide in to me and I don't want it moving when hiking. Reached out to Thor but haven't heard a response back yet (only been since Sunday afternoon) so figured I'd pick the brains of those of you with experience.

Only thing left to acquire is the 209 breech plug and I should be able to hit the range soon!

Thanks in advance,

TM

alfagan88

FNG
Just went through the Thor sizing pack myself. .500 and .501 went through my TC Encore barrel very easily. .502 went down with slight resistance, and the .503 went down fairly rough.

Ordered a pack of .503, shot them, and found they actually slid down the barrel easier on the barrel after i had fired and swabbed the barrel clean.

Just my opinion, but if i were you, i'd get a 15 pack of the .501's and shoot them. Good luck!

OP
ToolMann

ToolMann

WKR
Just went through the Thor sizing pack myself. .500 and .501 went through my TC Encore barrel very easily. .502 went down with slight resistance, and the .503 went down fairly rough.