Thoughts on hunting efficiently

RCB

WKR
Folks,

I am still new to big-game hunting - started just last year. I've gotten lucky here and there, but after some reflection I think that I am a total novice at hunting efficiently. By that, I mean that I have spent too much of my hunting hours not being in a position where I am likely to encounter game - either because I am driving, covering ground on trails either to or from the truck, or spending time at camp. I thought I'd share an example of what I mean, based on a hunt from this year. Would love to hear what others have learned about efficient hunting. Would also love to hear if anyone disagrees with the lessons I have gleaned from my failures!

A friend (first time hunter) and I did a 2nd season CO rifle buck hunt. Late October. The unit had a ton of public land, ranging form about 7k to 10k feet, but also a ton of hunters, both for deer and for OTC bull. We did not fill our tags, and actually never even saw a buck on public land. Our failure could be chalked up to general inexperience, but looking back on it I think that out biggest failure was an inefficient use of time. Here's a list of ways:

First, we were camped relatively far from all the areas we wanted to hunt, which meant 30+ minute drives every morning and evening. That was partly dictated by the lack of available camping spots - nearly every flat spot seemed to have a camp - but still we probably could have sought out a spot closer to the action. 30 minutes driving isn't so bad, but it does feel like a waste after so many days. In the future, I think putting in the effort to find a camping spot closer to the areas we intend to hunt will be worth it. Or, hike in a few miles and set up a spike camp. You lose the immediate mobility of a truck, but at least you are that much closer to the action. If after 1-2 days the action is poor, pack up and move.