Threaded insert in trekking pole handle

KnuckleChild

Lil-Rokslider
I thought about this on a spring bear hunt. Sometimes just to get a break from sitting or craning my neck I’d just stand and sort of clamp my tripod legs over the top of a trekking pole adjusted to the right height and glass with my binos that way. Obviously not the same as a tripod but worked well enough.
Thought about drilling into the top of the handle and putting a stainless threaded 1/4-20 insert in there to thread the pan head into. Anyone try this before?

MtnMuley

WKR
Curious to hear how it goes, as I had the same idea a few years back for backcountry glassing. I had planned on leaving an ultralight ball head attached the whole time while using the poles while out hunting. I have a designated pouch on my AGC harness to carry my Outdoorsmans bino adapter that'd spin on in a few seconds.

Drenalin

WKR
I have a Promaster tripod that I shortened two of the legs on, but left the third leg full length so I can take it off and use it as a monopod when I don't want to carry the tripod. I was surprised how well the monopod works with binos, just to get some stability for a quick look around. I don't know if I'd use that monopod as a trekking pole, but I'm pretty sure the trekking pole with an adapter would work fine as a monopod. I wouldn't want to sit with one for very long, and none of my trekking poles would be long enough to use if I were standing (which ironically is when this would be most useful), but yeah...it can work, with some limitations.

OP
KnuckleChild

KnuckleChild

Lil-Rokslider
Yea I wouldn’t want to use it all day, and would still bring a tripod, but I was also surprised when I stuck the tripod on top the trekking pole how easy it was. I glassed for a good hour standing like that and the only thing that really got tired was my hand squeezing the tripod onto the pole.
I’m gonna dig around the hardware store and see what I can come up with.

Drenalin

WKR