Tikka caliber?

CALIBERS I'M CONSIDERING
-30-06
-300WSM

BACKGROUND AND CONTEXT
I'll start off by saying I've drank the Tikka T3X Kool-Aid pretty hard. I've never shot one (played with/drooled over plenty), but seeing as how guys rave about them on here I'm not too worried about it. The price point, cold hammer forged barrels, the bolt on the wrong side;), and butter smooth action make it attractive to me. It will be used to hunt elk, muleys, bears, WT, pronghorn, and BC goat in 2020, and hopefully sheep after that. I was born and raised in Fairbanks, AK and still have family and friends there, so realistically I will most likely be chasing moose and caribou with it as well. In my military days I used the .308 extensively, and really love the cartridge. I've seen it kill WT, and black bear with relative ease. I've got zero experience with both the 30-06, and 300 wsm. Growing up in Alaska and after having run-ins with grizzlies I always used my pops 338 win mag, and handled the recoil fine. However, I'm not looking to carry that heavy of a rifle and/or have my ass kicked every time I use it, nor do I think I need a 338 due to the majority of my hunting being outside of AK and away from grizz country.

WHAT I'M LOOKING FOR OUT OF THE RIFLE
I'd like it to be a relatively lightweight, short barreled (i'm thinking 20" but open) work horse that, by switching bullets, I can rely on all over NA. I'd like to keep my hunting range 400 yards and in. With mountain goats in mind, I'm very keen on having the ability to put a critter down HARD. I don't want it to leap off a cliff if I can help it; that insurance is the reason for my consideration of the WSM.