Tired of looking

CWayne121

Lil-Rokslider
Hi all,

I've been a lurker for a while, decided to jump into the conversation for a few reasons -- this thread being one of them.

I've spent an unreasonable amount of time searching this forum, review blogs, Texas hunting sites, and reading Amazon/REI reviews looking for the right boot for my use case and parameters.

I live in central Texas and hunt just south of San Antonio on fairly flat peanut farming land. I hunt, hike, and backpack (15–30-mile desert mountain treks). I prefer stalking whitetails and hogs along river oaks and mesquite thickets. I walk 3-5 miles per hunt in very sandy soil with harsh cacti, nettle, and other angry plants. I hunt in an area with venomous snakes. I've never been in a close call but my uncle was bitten by a rattler on the ranch and I'm cautious.

I've been wearing Chippewa snake boots for the last 4 years. I just can't do them anymore. I don't like how they fit my foot. I'm not a fan of the heel cup area. They have heel slop but if I went down a size, they'd be too short. They are the hardest boots I've ever had to get off, even with a boot jack. My calves cramp every time I try. I've even been in a couple of situations in which I didn't think they were going to come off and my foot was losing circulation fast. They are heavy and aren't good hikers. They are also pretty hot but that's the least of my complaints.

All that said, I'd like to ask you all here for your recommendation with or without taking the below parameters into consideration. All recommendation are welcome.

Good for the ranch, hunting, and backpacking use cases above (maybe an elk hunt in the future)
Full-grain leather to help with snake protection along with snake gaiters
6-9"
Gore-Tex for morning dew, river bottom, and rain hunting (which I enjoy)
Vibram sole
Uninsulated
Something I could get lightly used for $150 to $200

I appreciate your help.