Travel Pack for Backcountry Elk?

fontrsn

FNG
I'm brand new to Rokslide so forgive me if this post is ignorant. I'm doing my first backpack bowhunt for elk in September and I'm on a budget. I have a MEI travel pack I bought years ago. It weighs six pounds and is absolutely bullet proof, with a fully adjustable and comfortable suspension system, water resistant and tough tough tough. It is however, a travel pack and not even a trail pack, much less a hunting pack. I have backpacked in CO to 11,300 feet with a sixty five pound load in years past and it worked great. With a limited budget, what priority should I put on a pack over things like hunting clothes, optics and other things I may need? I have a great bow but need arrows (heavier for elk), don't have my water system figured out yet, have a good sleep system. Does a hunting pack make all the difference in the world, or is just a nice thing to have?

brisket

Lil-Rokslider
Some of the packs people are using for hunting are as minimalist as you can get (see some of seek outside's offerings, no break away bag minimal pockets). If your pack works for you under heavy loads, focus your cash on optics, boots, and a good layering system

Just like @brisket says, sounds like it works for you for now. No need to buy a fancy hunting pack if you have already field tested and it has worked in the past. I'd spend my $$$ on something else.

Arrows you already have will work. If you like your archery setup, leave it. If it were me, I would find a nice set of bino's or clothing. Even the clothing doesn't have to be hunt specific. I have a bunch of camo KUIU stuff but have strayed to more solids over the years. I hate spending big $$ on clothing to wear it a few weeks per year. I have 3 pairs of hunting pants I wear year round for casual and work stuff. 1 pair of KUIU and 2 pairs of Prana. Wearin Pranas today as a matter of fact.

OP
fontrsn

fontrsn

FNG